Naturaleza, Principalmente las Aves (Nature, mostly birds)

IMG_2636

The day begins with Metro ride to the Born. Arrive early for Mary’s interview with the bike promoter and head off to a local park, Parc de la Cuitadella. We enter with large arboretum on our right and greenery all around. I realize how much I miss nature.

Boisterous birds sing, and I sight what looks like perhaps a Cockatiel perched in a tree? Can that be?

I take in the statues of rock specimens. Somehow I feel the earth differently in the city and these old friends bring me home.

IMG_2630

IMG_2629

I drop Mary off, and head back to the park in search of more solace with nature.

Down to the other end of the park, I run into Zoo de Barcelona. Perhaps this is the source of these unusual birds. I soon encounter more feathered friends on the path,  very tame allowing me to snap pictures as I approach.

IMG_2635

IMG_2636

We communicate. We connect.

IMG_2638

Further along I encounter another green wonder with some type of tracking tag. Someone else wants to know why they are here. Although I am curious, I am mostly content to be in their presence.

IMG_2641

On a final loop of the park, I am reminded of the Barcelona mythos of the dragon, as I pass by the Castle of the Dragons. IMG_2651

IMG_2652

The dragon terrorized Montblanc and the patron saint, Saint George, defeated the dragon and is honored throughout the city.

IMG_1658

One last round by these unlikely friends,

IMG_2639

then back to another side of life, some art and

IMG_2645

some curious details in the sidewalks.

IMG_2654

Returning home I learn the green birds are Monk Parakeets, seen in various locations in Spain and other areas of Europe. They are a common site in Barcelona parks, often as commonplace as pigeons – but much more lovely.

© 2013 by Lisa Howells and Mary Reynolds. All rights reserved

Leave a Reply

